Writing 101, Day 2: Transporting back to the past

I have always dreamt to be a writer since I was little. I want to express my thoughts and my ideas. I want to share my experiences. I want to help others through my writings. But I always hesitate to do so because I’m not confident that I can write well. I’m not good in writing. I like to write but writing doesn’t seem to like me. That is why I enrolled in this Writing 101 challenge hoping to improve my writing skills and learn from the experts and the other participants.

Last night, I got overly excited to post my first assignment for Writing 101 that I accidentally hit the wrong button and everything that I’ve written just disappeared. Yes, everything was lost and I tried every possible way to retrieve it but none of them worked. It broke my heart and it made me cry the whole night. I almost felt discouraged to continue this Writing 101 challenge but thanks God I’m back and I’m writing for Day 2.

Today’s assignment is about choosing a place where I’d like to be transported to if I could and I have to tell the backstory. Hmmm , this sounds interesting but as I was reading the instructions, I couldn’t think of a place where I want to be right this moment.

Then I remember one of my recent pictures in the beach which reminded me of my happy childhood years and now it’s slowly transporting my imagination back to the past…

 

I grew up in a place which is a few meters away from the seashore and a few minutes boat ride to the nearby islands. When I was little, my friends and I would often go to the seashore to swim and play. Just as the sun starts to show up in the morning, I already anticipate that my friends would come knock our door and ask my parents to allow me to join them to go swimming and playing in the seashore during the weekends. And most of the time, they would say yes. And there go the happy kids!

We start playing in the morning when it’s high tide and we go home at noon time or in the afternoon when it’s already low tide. That’s how much we enjoyed staying in the waters. Then we go home shaking because we stayed too long in the water and shaking because we’re scared to see our parents who are waiting for us on our doorsteps holding coconut broom sticks ready to punish us for coming home late.

I couldn’t help but laugh whenever I recall those days. I didn’t learn how to swim when I was a kid or even until now but I really have fond memories in the waters.

I wonder if I could post this picture, but I’ll share it anyway.

playing like kids

playing like kids

This picture was taken two weeks ago during our vacation in Samar, a province in the Philippines. If you noticed, I looked happy on this picture. Yes I was. I was enjoying the water while playing with my cousins. I felt like I was a kid again. I love the small waves. I love the sand. I love this place.

When I graduated high school, I decided to continue my college education in Manila, the capital city of the Philippines. Ten years passed and I already finished college, got a job, got married, and now I’m a mom to an adorable 7-month old baby girl. A lot of things have changed. When I was still staying in the province, I always wanted to go to the city. And now that I’m already in the city, I always want to go back to the province.

Some say that “there’s no place like home.” And I couldn’t agree more. I miss the seashore, I miss the sand, I miss my childhood friends, I miss home.

And through this writing, I just felt like I was home…

#writing101_day2, #childhood, #happy-childhood, #home, #kids, #philippines, #playing, #samar, #seashore, #swimming, #writing-101

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Writing 101, Day 2: Transporting back to the past

Leave a Reply

