Writing 101, Day 3: Three of my favorites songs

I’m really poor when it comes to titles of the songs. But I love listening to music. I also love singing even if I can’t sing well.

For today’s assignment, I’ll share three of my favorite songs.

The first one is entitled “Sa Ugoy ng Duyan”. In english, “In the cradle’s rocking”. It’s a Filipino lullabye that has been recorded by various artists including Lea Salonga and Regine Velasquez, two of the most popular singers in the Philippines.

I like this song because it’s dedicated to our dearest mothers and how much they love and care for us. Whenever I hear this song, it reminds me of how my mom sacrificed for me from the day I was born to my early childhood years when she had to sing lullabies to put me to sleep.

Now that I’m already a mom too, I can totally relate and understand how much moms love their children and how willing we are to do everything just to give the best for them. I love my mom so much and my love for her became even stronger the moment I gave birth to my first child. She inspires me to do the same for my daughter. I even sing the same lullabies for her when I put her to sleep.

I’m trying to remember the title of my second favorite song but my memory isn’t functioning well right now. I even tried googling some part of the lyrics that says something like “we will meet again in some other place, the vision is here for some happiness…” I don’t know if it’s right but that’s what I remember as I sing it.

Well, this was our graduation song back in high school. I remembered how much I cried while we were singing it. I felt so sad because after being together for four years in school, we were going to part ways already and I would truly miss my friends. It was like separation anxiety for me.

My college days were not as fun and memorable as my high school. But the good thing is, even if we didn’t go to the same school in college, we still get to hang out at times. In fact even now that most of us are already married and have kids, we still get to see each other when there’s some events and celebrations.

The third song is “Marry your daughter” by Brian McNight. I always get teary-eyed when I hear this song. It reminds me of how my then boyfriend (now my husband) asked my parent’s permission to marry me. I felt like I was the princess in a fairy tale and the prince was asking me to marry him. And of course I said YES!

We got married in a simple civil wedding celebration. Just like any other woman’s dream, I also wished we had our church wedding. But I’m not losing hope. Even if we’re already parents to our now 7-month old daughter, I still keep on dreaming. I hope that someday, we will have our church wedding too. And I want this song to be sung as I walk on the aisle. Ah, I’m getting teary-eyed again!

Leave a Reply

