Writing 101, Day 5: The Hopeless Romantic

The instruction was to write a story about a random letter that I stumbled upon on the path, which affected me deeply and I wished it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. And to give it a twist, I need to approach this post in a few words as possible.

I planned to make a 50-word story. I tried revising it a couple of times but it’s just too hard to write a super short story. So I’ll just share what I came up with…

I live at the 4th floor of the building and as I was walking down the stairs, I saw a small white envelop. I picked it up. It wasn’t sealed. There was no ‘from or ‘to on the outside but there was some kind of a letter inside. I looked around to see if it was owned by one of the tenants but I didn’t see anyone. All the rooms were closed.
Out of curiosity, I took out the letter and read it…

“This is the day that we have both been waiting for.
I’m on my way to the airport now and I’m leaving for a job that’s waiting for me abroad.
This is just one of our dreams.
I know we’re both happy that it finally came true after a long wait.
But we’re no longer together now.
I knew I’ve hurt you. I didn’t mean to.
But you know that I still love you. I really do.
It’s hard to think that I’m travelling on my own right now while it should have been the two of us.
I don’t even know if you’ll be able to read this, but if fate sends this to you,
You know my number… I will wait for you at the airport…
Or please wait for me when I come back.”

Then I found myself crying while staring at the letter on my left hand and the cellphone on my right…

Leave a Reply

