Writing 101, Day 11: From One Home to Another

Today, tell us about the home you lived in when you were twelve. For your twist, pay attention to — and vary — your sentence lengths.

This is what I like about this blogging/writing 101 thing. I get to write the least or even never thought of topics like this one. It’s challenging and exciting at the same time. And for this topic, actually I was just trying to recall the home where I lived in when I was 12 but it turned out to be a list of the houses and homes that our family had while I was growing up. So here’s what I came up with for today’s assignment.

 

For almost 30 years, my mom worked in the government as a telegraph operator. Due to the nature of her job, she had to be assigned from one place to another. Thus, we had to transfer homes from time to time.

When I was around 2-3 years old, we lived in a small nipa hut right in front of our house now. It had a bamboo stair with only 2 steps. I don’t know why we stayed in that house. The only thing I remember is, it was a rainy day, my father cooked rice and he put it on a wide, orange, plastic plate. I don’t even know what the significance of this is but clearly this is only what I remember on that house. As in nothing more.

this is how our old nipa hut looks like

Then my mom was reassigned to another town. I and my younger brother were sent to our maternal grandparents’ house. I was around 4-5 years old then. It was an old house made of wood with red cement flooring. There was one room at the lower ground floor which I remembered was being flooded whenever there’s a heavy rain. We would usually take an afternoon nap in that same room with my younger brother. There was no electric fan. But the fresh air coming through the open windows was incomparable. There was also a wooden terrace, where we usually played hide and seek during the day, and where we hang out during the night while staring at the stars.

my grandparents’ old house

When I turned 6, I was already in our house now. I don’t remember much about that house back then. What I remember is, I attended kindergarten and I was the class valedictorian. I don’t remember if I was smart or what. But I knew I was the most behaved in class. Meaning, someone who doesn’t talk or recite but I got good grades. I was just too shy to speak in front of the class, which I carried over until high school.

My dad made a temporary room made of huge blankets and that’s where my mom gave birth to my youngest sister. I remember, I would sneak a peek at the room where my mom was breastfeeding my baby sister, and I was jealous.

 

When I was 7 to 9 years old, my family moved to another town again. My mom rented a small apartment made of wood, in front of the town plaza. Half of the space was elevated. One side was a small room where we keep our clothes. The other side was the space which served as the playground of my little sister who then was just starting to walk. And that’s the same space where we all sleep at night. On the lower ground, without any cement flooring, just pure soil; there was a small, round dining table.

A year after, that apartment was renovated and divided into two rooms. The right one was ours while the other one was rented by another family. So our house got smaller. The living room, dining room and the sleeping room were all in one place. Happy place, isn’t it? But I had a lot of fond memories in that little abode.

When I was in grade 3, I was 9 then, my family finally moved back to our own house, the house that we have now in the province. Then I turned 12. I was a grown up. The house almost looked the same as now except that it had fewer cabinets and no room back then. I don’t think it’s big. It’s not wide either. But it’s kind of elongated. I don’t know how to call it. We had a garage, even if we didn’t have a car. The living room was wide. Maybe because there was no sala set in there. There was a wooden divider that my dad made to divide the living room from the kitchen. There was a dirty kitchen on one side and the ‘clean kitchen’ on the other side. And we had a long 10-seater wooden table with 2 long wooden benches. Then there was the bathroom and the laundry area on the side. Few steps away, there was a big storage room, then another cooking area, and finally a small garden with banana trees.

On the second floor, was a wide space where we had all our cabinets, clothes, and all other stuff on all sides while the open space was where we all sleep together.  There was no room division that time. But we already had that same terrace that we have now. There were full of bougainvillea plants on the terrace. We love hanging out there especially during the night when there are stars in the sky.

2 Comments

  1. I enjoyed reading about the various places you lived. I moved a lot during childhood and I don’t remember any of them.

    It was also interesting to read that in your culture you are considered an adult at 12. That is certainly different from my world.

  2. Thanks @karuna for dropping by. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. 🙂
    Actually that’s how far i remember the houses where we lived in. I was trying to compute my age backwards and I was surprised that I still recall some of my childhood experiences even those when I was as young as 3. I kinda wonder if the 3-year old kids now could also remember their experiences when they turn 30 or even older…

    And also, speaking of that small nipa hut, I called my mom earlier and I asked her why we lived there and she said that it was only temporary because our new house in front of the nipa hut was being constructed that time. And that I don’t recall..:)

Leave a Reply

